Make Ahead Freezer Meal

13 Apr

This is a make ahead freezer meal that I found in my Taste of Home cookbook. It is very easy to make. All you do is double the recipe. You eat one that night and then freezer the second to eat another day. I like to use the frozen ones either on a busy night so that I don’t have to worry about cooking or on Fridays so that I can have a relaxing evening. I like that I can have ready to eat, homemade meals without have to do much on the night that we eat the frozen ones. I keep my freezer stocked with freezer meals so that I always have one handy. Check under the Food Tab at the top of my blog for additional make ahead freezer meals.

This is Chicken Stuffing Casserole. It’s almost like have Thanksgiving dinner because it is made with stuffing, chicken (you could usse turkey) and corn.

 

To make it healthier, I use this Whole Wheat Stuffing from Stove Top instead of the regular stuffing made with white bread.

 

You divide the ingredients into two baking dishes. One to eat that night and one to freeze for another night. I buy disposable pans for the one that I put in the freezer. I don’t want to have all my pans frozen in the freezer and not be able to use them for other meals.

 

You will then cover both dishes with foil and then label and date the one to be frozen.  You want to use it within 3 months, that is why dating it is helpful.  You label it so that if you have more than one make ahead freezer meal in the freezer, you’ll be able to tell what it is just by reading the label. I put two layers of foil on the casserole I am putting in the freezer. I feel like it gives it extra protection against freezer burn and I also don’t want to be baking a dish with permanent marker on it, so I throw away the top layer of foil before baking it. I worry that the fumes from the marker could somehow make it into the food when it bakes.

 

Then it’s time to enjoy. I served this with a side of sautéed yellow squash and zucchini. Yum!!! Click here to read and print the recipe.

 

 

One Response to “Make Ahead Freezer Meal”

  1. 3 Stinky Boys and Me April 18, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    OMG! That looks SO yummy! I’m going to try it this weekend! Thanks!
    xo
    Tasha

Leave a Reply

