How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

20 Mar

Last Thursday for St. Patrick’s Day, I made Corned Beef and Cabbage for dinner. I Looove… Corned Beef and Cabbage, but I never think to make it except for St. Patrick’s Day. Last year I didn’t even think to make it at all. The recipe I used is a combination of a recipe in my Better Homes and Gardens Cook Book and the directions that were on my corned beef package. Click here for the recipe.

I could tell that it must have been a long time since I made it because my kids couldn’t remember ever eating it. I didn’t think they would like it since it was different from our usual dinner food, but to my surprise they Looooved it! Dylan kept saying, “this is the best chicken, you need to make it a again.” No matter how many times we tell our kids what kind of meat we are eating, they still call it chicken.

I also thought our kids would complain about the cabbage since that is not a normal thing for us to eat either, but they just thought it was a salad (which they love). They wanted to ranch dressing on it, so I let them because I figured at least they were eating it. Why tell them that’s not the normal way of eating cabbage?

The only thing I could think of to make with the corned beef and cabbage were rolls. So I asked my husband, Justin, what he thought we should have with it and he thought the same thing. I didn’t want to use frozen dinner rolls because whatever they add to the dough always upsets my stomach and premade rolls never taste that great. So I decided to use a quick dinner rolls recipe from a book that I have called Centsible Meals. Here is that recipe.

Leave a Reply

